My Picks for the ACM Awards

Thursday morning, this year’s nominations for the Academy of Country Music Awards were released. The 53rd annual award show will feature some incredible talent and the competition between nominees will be fierce. With Reba returning to host, we expect a night full of the best of the best in country music.

Here are the list of nominees and my picks:

Entertainer of the Year

  • Jason Aldean
  • Garth Brooks
  • Luke Bryan
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Keith Urban

My pick: Garth Brooks or Chris Stapleton. Why? Easy. They win EVERYTHING.

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Jason Aldean
  • Thomas Rhett
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Keith Urban
  • Chris Young

My pick: I really want to say Chris Young because I have a soft spot for the deep-voiced country star, but I think Keith Urban or Thomas Rhett have it this year.

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Kelsea Ballerini
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Reba McEntire
  • Maren Morris
  • Carrie Underwood

My pick: Kelsea Ballerini. She’s flawless and her new album is absolute fire, that’s enough to in female vocalist of the year in my book.

Vocal Duo of the Year

  • Brothers Osborne
  • Dan + Shay
  • LOCASH
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Tim McGraw and Faith Hill

My pick: I honestly can’t pick because they are all worthy of the title this year.

New Vocal Duo/Group of the Year

  • High Valley
  • LANCO
  • LOCASH
  • Midland
  • Runaway June

My pick: LANCO

Vocal Group of the Year

  • Lady Antebellum
  • LANCO
  • Little Big Town
  • Midland
  • Old Dominion

My pick: It’s tough but I think it’s between Little Big Town and Old Dominion

Single Record of the Year

  • “Better Man” – Little Big Town
  • “Body Like A Back Road” – Sam Hunt
  • “Broken Halos” – Chris Stapleton
  • “Drinkin’ Problem” – Midland
  • “I’ll Name The Dogs” – Blake Shelton

My pick: I feel like Sam Hunt’s hot summer single should win, but I feel like Chris Stapleton’s “Broken Halos” will win this year’s Single Record of the Year.

Song of the Year

  • “Body Like a Back Road” – Sam Hunt
  • “Female” – Keith Urban
  • “Tin Man” – Miranda Lambert
  • “Whiskey And You” – Chris Stapleton

My pick: SAM. FREAKIN’. HUNT. PLEASE.

Album of the Year

  • Breaker – Little Big Town
  • California Sunrise – Jon Pardi
  • From A Room Vol. 1 – Chris Stapleton
  • Happy Endings – Old Dominion
  • Life Changes – Thomas Rhett

My picks: LBT’s Breaker or TR’s Life Changes

Video of the Year

  • “Black” – Dierks Bentley
  • “It Ain’t My Fault” – Brothers Osborne
  • “Legends” – Kelsea Ballerini
  • “Marry Me” – Thomas Rhett
  • “We Should Be Friends” – Miranda Lambert

My pick: Legends or Marry Me. Both are absolute masterpieces with a deeper message in the videos.

Vocal Event of the Year

  • “Craving You” – Thomas Rhett ft. Maren Morris
  • “Dear Hate” – Maren Morris ft. Vince Gill
  • “Funny (How Time Slips Away)” –  Glen Campbell and Willie Nelson
  • “The Fighter” – Keith Urban ft. Carrie Underwood
  • “What Ifs” – Kane Brown ft. Lauren Alaina

My pick: The Fighter or Dear Hate.

The 53rd ACM Awards will air at 8pm on April 15 on CBS.

Before tuning in, make sure you tell me who YOU think will win!

xoxo
Boston Belle

Leave a comment